Congrats to the Hawk

Howdy folks.  I know it has been a while.  Sorry.  Life.  Who knew?

I am chiming in quickly with my reaction to the wonderful news that Mr. Andre Dawson was elected to the Hall of Fame. 

What took so long?

Hawk’s numbers speak for themselves–I won’t go into those.  But he seemed to be one of the guys who helped baseball transition from bulky power hitters to sluggers who could also run and play defense.  Opposing base runners would not dare run on that gun of an arm in right field.  I can remember many a game where somebody would try to score from 2nd base or go 1st to 3rd on a base hit only to find themselves sent to the bench by Dawson’s mighty arm. 

One of the scariest moments of my childhood occurred when I watched Awesome Dawson get beaned in the face by the San Diego Padres’ Eric Show.  I remember the Hawk’s body lying there, motionless, at home plate while everybody charged the mound on his behalf.  The Cubs loved the guy, and the Cubs fans adored him. 

He was mythic in proportion.  I remember my dad telling me about seeing Dawson at a Cubs Convention in the 80s.  “His body is like a V,” my dad said.  Broad shoulders, strong chest, perfect physique for hitting the ball out of the park or stealing second base.  The guy was something.

I am really happy that another Cub has been able to be enshrined in Cooperstown.  It is long overdue.  Congrats, Hawk, and enjoy it.

Now, how about a certain Cubs third baseman getting some love from the Veteran’s Committee?

11 comments

  1. mattpeas

    welcome back bud. ive been a fan of Dawson’s since I recived an autograph card of his randomly in a pack of Topps a few years ago. Obviously this is some 15 years after he played but he still seems like a good guy and player. its good he has been rewarded. happy new year!

    http://pittpeas.mlblogs.com

  2. angelsgirl012

    I agree congrats to Mr Dawson! Although I didn’t see him play at all I certainly am aware of his outstanding career. He is deserving of this prestigious award. Although I was quite disappointed with Roberto Alomar I’m sure his time will come soon. I’m glad Cubs fans have some reason to smile and be proud of. If that is he decides to go in the Hall as a Cub.

    till then

    http://mimi.mlblogs.com

  3. Fenway Bleacher Creature

    Hey Raysfanboy. It’s great to see you back, I just started my blog up again today, after a long “leave of absence.” I hope to see some more of your posts in the coming weeks. Good luck with the blog!

    Fenway Bleacher Creature
    http://the3rs.mlblogs.com/

  4. Michael David

    Like everyone else, I’m happy to see you back in the MLBlog universe. Dawson is well deserving, but I agree there are a few other that are worthy as well. I think there needs to be a new system of voting. Polling former players and managers would be a good start.
    Mike
    http://burrilltalksbaseball.mlblogs.com

  5. raysrenegade

    Congrats on posting # 66 for the entire 2009 season.
    Hope all is going well over at Fanhuddle and that you are getting a great following.
    Again, congrats since I like having multiple Rays blogs like yourself, Brenton and Ginny on MLBlogs.com

    Rays Renegade

    http://raysrenegade.mlblogs.com

Leave a Reply

