Swept Aside

I’ve got my Rays hat on and am ready for tonight’s game to see if the Rays can sweep the Blue Jays.

Oh, right.

Matinee baseball.

Don’t get me wrong, growing up a die-hard Cub fan I LOVED afternoon baseball.  It was awesome watching the Cubbies during the summer at noon or being able to catch the end of the game right as school ended.  That was fun stuff.

However, as an adult who is trying to remodel a bathroom and kitchen, matinee baseball sometimes is a bit inconvenient.  The Rays were winning while I was hammering, so I couldn’t enjoy the victory.

Ah, well.

I did catch snippets here and there.  I was a little worried about how the Rays would handle the Doc, but it looks like they handled him just fine.  A 3-2 win and a sweep make all things right in the world, and we can worry about Halladay another day.  Hard to believe the Rays have taken down the best pitcher in baseball two times in a row.

I saw Dan Wheeler shut the Jays down in the 9th, looking every bit as dominent as he did at times last season.

While I was a little upset I missed most of the game today, I knew that checking out my friend at The Watercooler would get me up to date.  I think that the broom and the splashes of color, accompanied by plenty of exclamation points in her post about the contest let me know that it was quite a game and quite a win.

Sorry I missed it.

It is no coincidence, in my opinion, that the last three games (all wins, of course) have seen our starters go more than 5 innings each.  James Shields, Scott Kazmir, and David Price all got beyond the 5th and helped to put the bullpen in position each time to tie down the opponent’s offense without having to be overstretched.

The Rays have been pretty seesaw-y as they have now won 7 in a row, lost 4 in a row, and won 3 in a row.  Let’s hope they can push the streak to 4 tomorrow against the A’s.

2 comments

  1. crazy19canuck

    Hope the remodelling is going well. I caught the last bit of the game – and enough to see win number 3. Do I hear 4?
    Canuck

Leave a Reply

